The Mabinogion Tetralogy

The Mabinogion Tetralogy

Book - 2002
Average Rating:
Rate this:
The retelling of the epic Welsh myth that is "certainly among the top 5 fantasy series of the twentieth century" (

The Mabinogion is to Welsh mythology what the tales of Zeus, Hera, and Apollo are to Greek myth. these tales constitute a powerful work of the imagination, ranking with Tokien's Lord of the Rings novels and T.H. White's The Once and Future King. Evangeline Walton's compelling rendition of these classic, thrilling stories of magic, betrayal, lost love, and bitter retribution include the encounter between Prince Pwyll and Arawn, the God of Death, which Pwyll survives by agreeing to kill the one man that Death cannot fell, and the tale of bran the blessed and his family's epic struggle for the throne.

The Mabinogion is internationally recognized as the world's finest arc of Celtic mythology; Walton's vivid retelling introduces an ancient world of gods and monsters, heroes, kings and quests, making accessible one of the greatest fantasy sagas of all time.
Publisher: Woodstock, NY : Overlook Press, 2002.
ISBN: 9781585672417
Branch Call Number: FIC/WALTON
Characteristics: 718 p. ; 24 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Feb 24, 2015

I was under the impression that this collection was 'just' a novel; however, it is liberally sprinkled with Ms. Watson's comments and suppositions about what "may" or "may not have
I did not find her commentary particularly helpful to either my enjoyment nor my understanding of the story, although, of course, someone who is do research rather than reading for enjoyment may find her comments more useful. I found them to be a distraction.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SDPL

To Top