Diving Into the Wreck

Diving Into the Wreck

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:
Boss dives derelict space vessels, for money, yes, but more for their historical value. So, when Boss uncovers the find of a lifetime, she enlists the best divers she can convince to help her pursue it-off the grid and under the Empire's radar. Boss' discovery leads her and some of her team to the Room of Lost Souls. Boss remembers the Room. It haunts her. Her mother died there. Now, a client wants her to go back. She wants Boss to help her uncover the Room's mysteries. But the truths she discovers might destroy everything Boss holds sacred. Because the more they discover, the less they realize they know-and the more it will cost them all. This is classic sci-fi, a well-told tale of dangerous exploration. The first-person narration makes the reader an eyewitness to the vast, silent realms of deep space, where even the smallest error will bring disaster. Compellingly human and technically absorbing, the suspense builds to fevered intensity, culminating in an explosive yet plausible conclusion."-RT Book Reviews Top Pick" Diving into the Wreck has much to offer, including what even Boss-the avid researcher into lost forms of science-describes as 'secrets which, if understood, can teach us more about ourselves than any science can.'"-Locus Magazine" Rusch delivers a page-turning space adventure while contemplating the ethics of scientists and governments working together on future tech."-Publisher's Weekly. --Provided by publisher.
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : WMG Publishing, 2016.
ISBN: 9781370999927
Branch Call Number: EBOOK
Characteristics: data file
1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

7
7626dee
Feb 26, 2018

Very interesting concepts, space wrecks and lost technology. The heroine is an odd mix-capable of space travel alone but very unsure of her own persona because of childhood trauma. Nice to humanize science fiction and to make the future understandable by tying it to the past and present. I like the way she writes!

Sammiqat Jul 12, 2012

This is very good straight science fiction, the kind of thing that should appeal to readers of Clarke, Asimov, Heinlein, and Cherryh's Alliance-Union books. It's suspenseful adventure about people and technology in space, with a lot of interesting history providing a background to both the narrator and the world. The prose style can be a bit irritating; the first-person narrator, Boss, tends, to an excessive degree, to address the audience in brusque, partial sentences when building up suspense or general ominousness, and the sustained present-tense voice would put me off after a while if the story weren't so gripping. However, it is.

Age

Add Age Suitability

b
bookKITTY
Jun 27, 2011

bookKITTY thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at SDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top