Green River Killer

Green River Killer

A True Detective Story

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
10
3
1
Rate this:
The story of one of America's most notorious killers is revealed in this true-crime comic unlike any other! Throughout the 1980s, the highest priority of Seattle-area police was the apprehension of the Green River Killer, the man responsible for the murders of dozens of women. In 1990, with the body count numbering at least 48, the case was put in the hands of a single detective, Tom Jensen. After 20 years, when the killer was finally captured with the help of DNA technology, Jensen spent 180 days interviewing Gary Leon Ridgway in an effort to learn his most closely held secrets - an epic confrontation with evil that proved as disturbing and surreal as can be imagined. Written by Jensen's own son, acclaimed entertainment writer Jeff Jensen, Green River Killer: A True Detective Story presents the ultimate insider's account of America's most prolific serial killer. * Combines a historic manhunt with a compelling family story! * Written by Entertainment Weekly's Jeff Jensen! * The ultimate true crime graphic novel! * For fans of From Hell and Torso. --Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Milwaukie, OR : Dark Horse Books, a division of Dark Horse Comics, Incorporated, 2015.
Edition: First paperback edition.
ISBN: 9781621150534
Branch Call Number: EBOOK
Characteristics: data file
1 online resource (233 pages : chiefly illustrations)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

p
pheumphreus
Sep 21, 2016

I found this book offensive when I received it due to the way it addressed a very morbid subject. After reading some of the other reviews, I think my critique was overly critical, particularly because it is written from the perspective of someone in a family that was involved in arresting the GRK. I didn't read the full book, but I'll still rescind my previous critique based on respect for the author and artist.

p
pheumphreus
Aug 12, 2016

So useless I turned it back in to the library the next day. I really want to say something good about it, but the best I can come up with is that I didn't spend any money on it.

b
bmobaggins
Jul 05, 2016

A truly great biography about the Green River Killer, Gary Ridgway, that is extremely disturbing but also a great page turner. While I had some fore-knowledge of the Ridgway murders due to it happening so close to here and not too long ago, I was still unprepaired for the level of depth this GN achieves. That's due largely to the author being the son of the lead detective who worked on the case for twenty years. Jensens father worked closely with Ridgway to track down the bodies of his forty victims in a truly torturous and saddening four month period; all of which ammounting to the the worst serial killing in US history. The artwork is presented with an equal aplomb that captures the story perfectly and in stark black and white for added effect. This was a really interesting and well played read, and it's a true story no less. Highly Recommmened.

I'm also surprised this is considered a Young Adult graphic novel by the FVRL, but it's a great book so any comic book fan should read it.

n
Nakkid
Jul 07, 2014

The only thing I didn't like about this book was that the events were hard to follow. It kept switching back and forth between the past and the present, so there was no real fluidity in the story, except only when the cops were doing investigations. With that being said, this book is otherwise really great. I thoroughly enjoyed it and found it kinda hard to put down. I love being able to see the thought processes, investigations, and actual emotions of the police officers. The interviews with Ridgeway were really interesting too in that you really felt like you were there with Mr. Tom trying to get inside the mind of this deranged individual capable of such horrendous crimes. If you love cop stuff and can stomach some dark stuff and images of decaying corpses, I'd highly, highly recommend this book!

SkycycleX2 Jul 11, 2012

A really fascinating and horrifying story of a serial killer and the investigator who cracks the case. It's a very compelling read partly for the contrast of the horrible murders and the banality of the investigation. There are surprisingly insightful characterizations and the artwork is beautifully stark. I highly recommend this graphic novel.

aoeswadi May 20, 2012

Amazing book - shows the human side of police procedural through the point of view of the main character.

b
brianvw1
Dec 21, 2011

Fun to read. Yes, fun. Real page turner.

q
Quetzlzacatenango
Dec 17, 2011

A quick but intense read filled with many emotional insights and details into detective work and the families of victims. Coupled with a highly contrasted style of artwork makes this a very enjoyable read; if such a thing can be said about a serial killer graphic novel based on a true story.

g
GregAraujo
Nov 23, 2011

One of the best graphic novels I've read this year.

metalsox Oct 29, 2011

Not as scary as the cover quote by King will lead you to believe but still really good.
This reads as cop drama set to find the Green River Killer. The thing that makes this so special is the fact that its written by the son as tribute to his father the man who spent 20 emotional years of his life obsessing over solving the case. As someone who knew nothing at all about the case it was extremely gripping and really creepy to learn everything that happened in Seattle. If you like detective stories at all or just want a little bit of history on the case this is great read.

Notices

Add Notices

metalsox Oct 29, 2011

Violence: This title contains Violence.

metalsox Oct 29, 2011

Sexual Content: This title contains Sexual Content.

metalsox Oct 29, 2011

Coarse Language: This title contains Coarse Language.

Age

Add Age Suitability

aoeswadi May 20, 2012

aoeswadi thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top