Joy for Beginners

Joy for Beginners

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
9
2
Rate this:
Six women gather to celebrate their friend Kate's recovery from cancer, where she strikes a bargain with them: to celebrate her new lease on life, she'll do the one thing that's always terrified her, but if she does, each of them will also do one thing that they'd find difficult.
Publisher: New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2011.
ISBN: 9780399157127
0399157123
Branch Call Number: FIC/BAUERMEISTER
Characteristics: 272 p. ; 22 cm.
Alternative Title: Year of the unexpected

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

JCLKinsleyR Apr 02, 2014

I wanted more character development and for the stories to be wrapped up. I started to feel connected to a few of the characters by the time the book was finished, but not until then. Still an enjoyable read, but not a favorite.

s
SFCohen
Nov 27, 2012

A sweet book - much in the same vein as her first, The School of Essential Ingredients, which I think was a bit better. Still, this is a book you can settle in with in front of the fireplace, wrapped in a blanket, with a nice cup of tea.

k
kltc
Sep 21, 2012

Read this book! I was sorry when I finished it - wanted to start it all over again.

b
Brookecp
Jul 01, 2012

A great story that makes you want to go out and challenge all your friends to do something out of their comfort zone. The author knows women and friendship - although she gets a bit wordy at times.

mcjmommy Jun 14, 2012

A great read! I couldn't put the book down! The relationship between the friends are real and engaging. I finished the book and wanted to know "what happens next". Enjoy!

BPLNextBestAdults Jan 05, 2012

The friendship between six women – all in different situations – began when Sara moved in with her newborn twins. To help the young mother, a “holding circle” is formed. When Kate announces that she has cancer, the friends’ focus shifts. Months later, at a celebratory dinner, a healthy Kate announces that she is going white water rafting. Kate challenges each do something that frightens them. The catch - Kate gets to pick their task.
Even though they seem simple, Kate knows that each woman will struggle confronting her deepest fear. This moving, character-driven novel will make you laugh, cry, and smile. Each lyrical chapter chronicles the women’s lives, how they met and how they conquer their personal challenges. Fans of Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher will enjoy Bauermeister’s heart-warming stand-alone follow-up to The School of Essential Ingredients.

m
mstockwe
Nov 08, 2011

a warm fuzzy book. May be a good choice for a book club. I appreciated how she tied the different stories together. Each section was based on one person but in the background, you could piece together how someone else's story progressed. It was a fairly light read. I was able to read it in 2 days. A good airplane or beach read.

u
usartifacts
Sep 03, 2011

If you're a fan of Elizabeth Berg, you will enjoy this author.

debwalker Jul 28, 2011

A warm, insightful tale of seven women who each take on life challenges to celebrate a friend's triumph over cancer.

Quotes

Add a Quote

c
carolefort
Jul 11, 2011

"This book is a joy to read. Bauermeister's characters revel in the best of what life has to offer, loving relationships, fine food, good books, and travel, and she writes with keen observance and a wry wit." STEPHANIE KALLOS, author of of Sing Them Home

c
carolefort
Jul 11, 2011

"Moving, touching, wonderfully written, inspiring to read."

Garth Stein, author of The Art of Racing in the Rain

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top