The Sad Fortunes of the Reverend Amos Barton / George Eliot

The Sad Fortunes of the Reverend Amos Barton / George Eliot

Book - 2008
Rate this:
Mary Anne Evans (1819-1880), better known by her pen name George Eliot, was an English novelist. She was one of the leading writers of the Victorian era. Her novels, largely set in provincial England, are well known for their realism and psychological perspicacity. Female authors published freely under their own names, but Eliot wanted to ensure that she was not seen as merely a writer of romances. An additional factor may have been a desire to shield her private life from public scrutiny and to prevent scandals attending her relationship with the married George Henry Lewes. Her first major literary work was the translation of David Strauss' Life of Jesus (1846). In 1857 The Sad Fortunes of the Reverend Amos Barton, the first of the Scenes of Clerical Life, was published in Blackwood's Magazine and, along with the other Scenes, was well received. Her first complete novel, published in 1859, was Adam Bede and was an instant success. Eliot's most famous work, Middlemarch, was a turning point in the history of the novel.
Publisher: [S.l.] : Dodo Press, 2008.
ISBN: 9781409910237
Branch Call Number: FIC/ELIOT
Characteristics: 72 p. ; 23 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SDPL

To Top